Exploratory Testing - Explore. Learn. Create. Execute. Improve.

Exploratives Testen erklärt

Erforschen. Lernen. Erstellen. Ausführen. Verbessern.

Exploratives Testen ist ein unverzichtbarer Testansatz - nicht nur in agilen Projekten. Er hilft Teams, mit dem schnellen Tempo und den kurzen Iterationen agiler Softwareprojekte Schritt zu halten. Nutzen Sie die Möglichkeiten von TestBench, um Ihr Team beim Explorativen Testen optimal zu unterstützen.

Auf die Plätze, fertig, Test!

Was ist Exploratives Testen?

Exploratives Testen ist ein Ansatz zum Testen von Software, der oft als "gleichzeitiges Lernen, Testdesign und Testausführung" umschrieben wird. Er bietet einen Rahmen, mit dem eine Gruppe von Teilnehmern ein Stück Software oder einen bestimmten Bereich eines Produkts auf höchst kreative und explorative Weise, aber innerhalb einer begrenzten Zeitspanne evaluieren kann.

Kreativ

Effizient

Flexibel

Schnell

Kollaborativ

Bereichernd

Exploratory Testing - Benefits

Holen Sie mehr aus Ihren Tests heraus

Vorteile des Explorativen Testens

Exploratives Testen hat mehrere positive Effekte. Sie können sofort mit dem Testen beginnen; eine aufwendige Testspezifikation ist nicht erforderlich. Das hilft, Probleme oder Fehler in jeder Phase oder Iteration Ihres Softwareentwicklungslebenszyklus mit minimalem Aufwand an Planung, Dokumentation und zu befolgenden Prozessen zu finden.

Sie können Bereiche Ihres Produkts evaluieren, die schlecht oder gar nicht spezifiziert sind oder für die die Anforderungen noch „im Fluss“ sind.

Das hilft Ihrem Team herauszufinden, wie das System wirklich aussehen sollte oder könnte und liefert Input, um Entscheidungen über die verschiedenen Möglichkeiten zu treffen, anstatt nur Unmengen von Fehlerberichten einzureichen.

Mit Hilfe des Explorativen Testens können Sie Ihren Horizont und den aller am Projekt beteiligten Personen erweitern. Der explorative Ansatz konzentriert sich auf die Kreativität, die Intuition und die persönlichen Erfahrungen der Menschen und nutzt diese. Er erfasst verschiedene Sichtweisen von ganz unterschiedlichen Menschen, die das Produkt jeweils anders betrachten oder mit verschiedenen Aspekten des Produkts vertraut sind.

Exploratory Testing - When to use exploratory testing?

Szenarien für Exploratives Testen

Wann sollten Sie explorative Tests verwenden?

Exploratives Testen ist am nützlichsten für spezielle Situationen, z. B. wenn Menschen schnell etwas über ein Produkt oder eine Anwendung lernen müssen. Es ist auch ein wertvolles Mittel, um die Qualität eines Produkts aus der Sicht des Endbenutzers zu bewerten. Exploratives Testen kann in den frühen Phasen des Softwareentwicklungs-Lebenszyklus sehr effektiv sein, wenn die Anforderungen noch unklar sind und der Code schnellen Änderungen unterliegt. Oder immer dann, wenn Sie nicht viel Zeit haben, um Testfälle im Voraus zu definieren und zu skripten.

Das Wissen und die Expertise, die während des Explorativen Testens gesammelt werden, sind natürlich im Nachhinein sehr nützlich, wenn es darum geht, (klassische) Testskripte für Regressionstests in kommenden Entwicklungsiterationen vorzubereiten.

Wie funktioniert Exploratives Testen?

Schritt eins:
Definieren Sie den Umfang

Planen Sie, was Sie während der explorativen Testsitzung abdecken wollen, z. B. einen bestimmten Funktionsbereich innerhalb Ihres Produkts, ein bestimmtes Feature, eine Reihe von Endbenutzerdialogen, einen bestimmten Workflow usw.

Nächster Schritt

Schritt zwei:
Legen Sie die Time-Box fest

Legen Sie fest, wie viel Zeit jeder Sitzungsteilnehmer für die Testsitzung aufwenden soll. Das mindert das Risiko, dass sich die Teilnehmer in der Anwendung verlieren und Zeit damit verschwenden, mit unwichtigen Bereichen oder Aspekten herumzuspielen. Außerdem nimmt die Konzentration der Teilnehmer ab, je länger eine Sitzung dauert. Die Begrenzung der Sitzungsdauer durch Timeboxing ist also ein entscheidender Erfolgsfaktor.

Nächster Schritt

Schritt drei:
Wählen Sie das Team aus

Am besten ist es, Personen mit unterschiedlichen Hintergründen und Rollen einzuladen und einzubeziehen: nicht nur Testexperten, sondern z.B. auch Projektmanager, Entwickler, Product Owner, Business Analysten oder natürlich Ihre Kunden oder Endanwender. Auch Personen von außerhalb des Projekts können spannende Hinweise liefern, da sie sich dem unbekannten System mit einem unvoreingenommeneren Blick nähern.

Nächster Schritt

Schritt vier:
Forschen Sie!

Starten Sie die Sitzung und beginnen Sie (gemeinsam oder parallel zu allen Sitzungsteilnehmern) Ihr Testobjekt zu erforschen! Führen Sie die betreffende User Story oder das Feature aus und beobachten Sie das Verhalten des Systems. Protokollieren Sie Ihre Erkenntnisse und aufkommenden Fragen – parallel zu Ihren Testaktivitäten – kurz und knapp – so wenig wie möglich, so viel wie nötig.

Nächster Schritt

Schritt fünf:
Bewerten Sie die Ergebnisse

Nach jeder explorativen Testsitzung sollten Sie die Erkenntnisse und Ergebnisse der Sitzung auswerten. Überprüfen und diskutieren Sie die Ergebnisse aller Teilnehmer und die Vor- und Nachteile des aktuellen Produktverhaltens.

Bereiten Sie bei Bedarf Fehlerberichte vor und übermitteln Sie diese an Ihr Fehlerverwaltungssystem. Entscheiden Sie über die nächsten Schritte, z. B. das Hinzufügen oder Aktualisieren von Anforderungselementen oder die Ableitung von Testfällen, die später für (automatisierte) Regressionstests verwendet werden können.

Nächster Schritt

Erforschen
Lernen
Erstellen
Ausführen
Verbessern

Wer kann explorative Tests durchführen?

Jeder kann testen

Exploratives Testen kann eine vielfältige Gruppe von Personen einbeziehen - Produktverantwortliche, Entwickler, (UX-) Designer, Business-Analysten, Support-Ingenieure oder Endbenutzer -, da keine Testautomatisierungs- oder Testskriptkenntnisse erforderlich sind. Jede Person kann und soll ihr spezifisches Fachgebiet und ihre individuellen Perspektiven einbringen.

Test Manager image

"Exploratives Testen ist der perfekte Ansatz, um Prototyp-Implementierungen oder späte Funktionsänderungen in kurzer Zeit zu überprüfen. Alle Rückmeldungen und Ideen sind direkt bei mir."

Software Developer

"Mit TestBench kann ich Produktbereiche erkunden, die meine Kollegen implementiert haben, aber auch zusehen, wie sie Funktionen erkunden, die ich implementiert habe."

Project Owner

"Ich verwende explorative Tests, um Feedback von Kunden zu sammeln. Mit TestBench kann ich explorative Testsitzungen mit Personen auf der ganzen Welt organisieren, überwachen und nachbesprechen."

Tester

"Die Teilnahme an einer explorativen Testsitzung macht Spaß und ist Teamarbeit pur."

Exploratory Testing - Explore the unknown to avoid the unexpected!

Erweitern Sie Ihren Horizont

Erforsche das Unbekannte, um das Unerwartete zu vermeiden

Die Kombination von Explorativem Testen mit skriptbasierten Testansätzen ist eine der erfolgreichsten Methoden, um Ihre Testleistung zu optimieren, die Qualität Ihres Produkts zu erhöhen und potenzielle Risiken zu minimieren. Deshalb haben wir die explorative Testmethode direkt in TestBench integriert.

exploratory software testing in agile
Exploratory Testing - The right tool for the right job

Exploratives Testen mit TestBench

Das richtige Werkzeug - für die richtige Aufgabe

Wir wissen, dass Sie nur so gut sein können wie Ihr Werkzeug.

So machen wir es

Warum TestBench das beste Werkzeug für Explorative Tests ist

Exploratives Testen ist in hohem Maße kollaborativ, aber weder unstrukturiert noch unkontrolliert. TestBench ist das Werkzeug zur Unterstützung des gesamten Prozesses des kollaborativen explorativen Testens.

Intelligente Zusammenarbeit

Laden Sie Kollegen mit den am besten geeigneten Fähigkeiten ein, um die Mission Ihrer explorative Testsitzung zu erreichen. Beobachten Sie in Echtzeit, was Ihre Kollegen parallel zu Ihnen in derselben Sitzung tun, um sich Anregungen zu holen oder Hilfestellung zu geben.

Konsistente Dokumentation

Machen Sie Schluss mit dem Papierchaos. Mit dem Notizformular können alle Beteiligten alles konsistent dokumentieren. Alle Notizen, auch mögliche Fehler und Testfälle, werden immer der Person zugeordnet, die sie erstellt hat.

Effiziente Koordination

Alle notwendigen Dokumente für eine explorative Testsitzung sind jederzeit für jeden Teilnehmer verfügbar. Es ist immer ersichtlich, wer gerade an einer Charta arbeitet, unabhängig davon, ob die Charta einer bestimmten Person zugewiesen wurde oder ob sich eine Person diese gerade ausgesucht hat, um daran zu arbeiten.

Ein Werkzeug für alles

TestBench unterstützt weit mehr als nur Exploratives Testen. Sie können auch strukturiertes Testen, checklistenbasiertes Testen oder automatisiertes Testen verwalten und praktizieren und alle diese Ansätze mischen und kombinieren.

Organisation

Beginnen Sie mit der Organisation der explorativen Testsitzung. Wählen Sie Ihr Team aus, legen Sie den Zeitrahmen fest und schreiben Sie alle Informationen auf, die Ihr Team für den Test benötigt.

  • Legen Sie die „Mission“ fest, indem Sie Ihre Ziele und den Zweck der Testsitzung beschreiben.
  • Strukturieren Sie die „Mission“ in „Testchartas“, um weitere Details oder Untermissionen zu definieren.
exploratory software testing in agile

Dokumentation

Beginnen Sie mit der Erkundung, entsprechend der Chartas. Wenn eine Charta bestimmte Fähigkeiten oder Kenntnisse erfordert, kann der Organisator die Chartas einem bestimmten Tester zuweisen. Andernfalls können Sie die Chartas selbst auswählen. Notieren Sie im Notizformular alle Schritte und Bereiche, die während der explorativen Testsitzung berührt wurden. Markieren Sie zusätzlich, ob Sie einen möglichen Fehler gefunden haben oder ob sich aus Ihrer Beobachtung ein Testfall ergeben könnte.

Ergebnisse überprüfen

Verfolgen Sie, was Ihr Team über das Produkt herausgefunden hat. Alle Notizen von allen Testern, die an der Sitzung teilnehmen, werden in Echtzeit angezeigt. Sie können sehen, wer an welcher Charta arbeitet und welche Ergebnisse bereits aufgezeichnet wurden. So können Sie vermeiden, dass Chartas doppelt bearbeitet werden. Oder holen Sie sich bei Bedarf Anregungen von Ihren Kollegen für Ihre Tests.

Data-Driven Testing - Smart test management tool

Das intelligente Testmanagement-Werkzeug

Registrieren Sie sich für die kostenlose Basic-Version von TestBench und beginnen Sie sofort mit dem Explorativen Testen.

Exploratory Testing

Explore. Learn. Create. Execute. Improve.

Exploratory Testing is an important testing approach – not only in agile projects. It helps teams to keep up with the rapid pace and short iterations of agile software projects. Use TestBench's exploratory testing extension to enable exploratory testing for your whole team.

Ready, steady, test!

What Is Exploratory Testing?

Exploratory testing is a software testing approach that is often described as „simultaneous learning, test design, and test execution“. It provides a framework helping a group of participants to evaluate a piece of software or a specific area of a product in a highly creative and exploratory manner but within a limited amount of time.

Creative

Efficient

Flexible

Fast

Collaborative

Rewarding

Get more out of your testing

Benefits of Exploratory Testing

Exploratory Testing has multiple beneficial effects. You can start right away with your testing as it does not require an elaborate test specification. That helps to find issues or defects in any stage or iteration of your software development lifecycle with minimal efforts of planning, documentation, and processes to be followed.

You can evaluate areas of your product that are poorly or not at all specified or for which requirements are still “in the flow”.

That will assist your team in finding out how the system really should or could look like and produces input to make the decisions on the various possibilities, instead of only submitting tons of defect reports.

With the help of exploratory testing, you can expand your horizon and that of all people who are part of a project. The explorative approach focuses on and uses people’s creativity, intuition, and personal experience. It captures different views of very different people, each of whom looks at the product differently or is familiar with various aspects of a product.

Exploratory testing scenarios

When to Use Exploratory Testing?

Exploratory testing is most useful for specific test scenarios, e.g., when people need to learn quickly about a product or application. It is also a valuable way to evaluate the quality of a product from the end-user’s perspective. Exploratory testing can be highly effective in the early stages of the software development life cycle when requirements are still unclear, and the code undergoes rapid changes or always when you do not have much time to pre-define and script test cases.

The knowledge and expertise collected during exploratory testing will, of course, afterward be very beneficial when it comes to preparing (classic) test scripts for regression testing in upcoming development iterations.

How does Exploratory Testing work?

Step One:
Define the Scope

Plan what you want to cover during the exploratory test session, e.g., a specific area of functionality within your product, a particular feature, a set of end-user dialogs, a specific workflow, etc.

Next Step

Step Two:

Set the Time-Box

Define how much time each session participant shall spend for the test session. That mitigates the risk that participants get lost in the application and waste time playing around with unimportant areas or aspects. Also, the concentration of participants will decrease the longer a session takes. So limiting the session’s duration by timeboxing is a crucial success factor.

Next Step

Step Three:
Select the Team

It is best to invite and include persons with different backgrounds and roles: not only test experts but also, e.g., project managers, developers, product owners, business analysts, or of course, your customers or end-users. Also, people from outside the project can provide exciting clues, as they approach the unknown system with a more impartial mind.

Next Step

Step Four:

Explore It!

Start the session and (together or in parallel to all session participants) begin to explore! Execute the user story or feature concerned and observe the system’s behavior. Briefly log your findings and questions arising – on the go – in parallel to your testing activities – as little as possible, as much as necessary.

Next Step

Step Five:

Evaluate the Results

After each exploratory test session, you should evaluate the findings and outcomes of the session. Review and discuss the results of all participants and the pros/cons of the current product behavior.

If needed, prepare, and submit defect reports to your defect management system. Decide about the next steps, e.g., add or update requirement items, or derive test cases that can be used later for (automated) regression testing.

Next Step

Explore
Learn
Create
Execute
Improve

Who can do exploratory testing?

Everyone Can Test

Exploratory testing can involve a diverse group of people – product owners, developers, (UX) designers, business analysts, support engineers, or end-users – as no test automation or test scripting skills are required. Each person can and shall bring her or his specific area of expertise and individual perspectives to the table.

„Exploratory testing is the perfect approach to check prototype implementations or late feature changes in a short time. All feedback and ideas collected are right at my fingertips.“

„With TestBench, I can explore product areas that my colleagues have implemented but also watch them exploring features I implemented. That is collaborative learning in the best way.“

„I use exploratory testing to collect feedback from customers. With TestBench, I can organize, monitor, and debrief exploratory testing sessions with people located all over the world.“

„Taking part in an exploratory testing session is fun and pure teamwork.“

Expand your horizon

Explore the Unknown to Avoid the Unexpected

Combining exploratory testing with scripted testing approaches is one of the most successful ways to optimize your testing performance, increase the quality of your product, and minimize potential risks. Therefore we include the exploratory testing method directly in TestBench.

exploratory software testing in agile

Exploratory Testing within TestBench

The Right Tool – For the Right Job

We know you can only be as good as your tool.

This is how we do it

Why TestBench Is the Best Tool for Exploratory Testing

Exploratory testing is highly collaborative but neither unstructured nor unmanaged. TestBench is the tool for supporting the entire process of collaborative exploratory testing.

Smart Collaboration

Invite colleagues with the most suitable skills to achieve the mission of your exploratory test session. Watch in real-time what your colleagues are doing in parallel to yourself in the same session to get inspiration or to give assistance.

Consistent Documentation

Put an end to the paper chaos. All participants can consistently document anything with the note form. All notes, including possible defects and test cases, are always assigned to the person who created it.

Efficient Coordination

All necessary documents for an exploratory test session are available at any time for any participant. It is always visible who is currently working on a charter, no matter if the charter was assigned to a particular person or whether a person just picked it to work on it.

One Tool for All

TestBench supports much more than only exploratory testing. You can also manage and practice structured testing, checklist-based testing or automated testing and mix and combine all these approaches.

exploratory software testing in agile

Organization

Start organizing the exploratory test session. Select your team, set the timebox, and write down all the information that your team needs for the test.

  • State the “Test Mission” by describing your objectives and the purpose of the test session.
  • Structure the “Mission” into “Test Charters” to define more details or sub-missions.

Documentation

Start exploring, according to the charters. If a charter requires specific skills or knowledge, the organizer can assign charters to a particular tester. Otherwise, you can choose the charters yourself. Write down all steps and areas touched during the exploratory test session in the note form. Select additionally, if you found a possible defect or whether a test case could arise from your observation.

Review Results

Keep track of what your team has found out about the product. All notes from all testers participating in the session are displayed in real-time. You can see who is working on which charter and which results have already recorded. So, you can avoid that charters are worked on twice. Or get inspiration from your colleagues for your tests if necessary.

The Smart Test Management Tool

Sign up for the free TestBench Basic Version and start exploratory testing right now.